propeller


abc1

How to check Facebook filtered messages and message requests



If you enter competitions on Facebook, you should be checking your message inbox (or Messenger app) regularly in case you get a winning notification! But it’s not as straightforward as it seems – there are also Message Requests and Filtered Messages to check.

  • If you get a Facebook message from a friend (or a page you’ve messaged), it will go into your regular Messenger inbox at www.facebook.com/messages
  • If a message comes in from someone Facebook thinks you might know, it will appear as a Message Request (or Connection request) at the top of your inbox at www.facebook.com/messages/requests
  • Messages from non-friends, assumed by Facebook to be spam, are sent to your Filtered Messages at www.facebook.com/messages/filtered
A Facebook page (company) can only message a fan directly if they have commented on their page – OR they can message if the fan has previously sent a message. Sometimes though, a winning notification will come from a page admin, who has to use their personal account to send that message – and it may well go to your Filtered Messages folder!


Find your messages on facebook.com

Go to www.facebook.com and click the speech bubble icon at the top of your browser window to get to your messages – it shows Recent by default, but you can click the Message Requests tab (this will show a number in brackets if you have unread messages). Click to view a request and at the bottom you can Accept or Decline it.

Scroll right down to the bottom of all your Message Requests and you should see a link to see Filtered Requests (see screenshot below) – if you have any! You can Reply to or Delete a Filtered message.

Find your messages using the Messenger app

To find your Message Requests on mobile, open Messenger and tap People then Message Requests. Scroll down past all your requests and you’ll see the Filtered Messages heading (if you have any!). Tap to Show all.
Tapping the X will decline a message request (or delete a filtered message).
Tapping the tick will move the message to your regular inbox.

If you pick up an old winning message and find you’ve missed the claim date for your prize (or there was no claim date!) don’t despair. Send a polite message back to the promoter explaining that you didn’t know about the Filtered Messages folder – they may be sympathetic!
You could also point out that the Advertising Standards Authority recommends that only contacting a winner once is NOT sufficient, and more attempts should be made if there’s no response

How To Delete A Facebook Group



Facebook allows anyone to create a virtual group for any cause or interest. While the website includes many tools to customize your group, no option exists to instantly deactivate the entire group. Instead of including a "Delete Group" button, you must systematically remove all members, including yourself. Once the group's member count reaches zero, the group disappears.

1. Log in to Facebook and visit your group that you want to delete.

2. Click the "See All" link in the Members section on the right side. A list of every group member appears.

3. Click the "X" next to a group member's name and click "Remove." Repeat this action until you are the last group member remaining. After deleting all members, Facebook redirects you to the group's profile page.

4. Click the "Leave and Delete this Group" link.

5. Click "Delete Group."

Tip

You must be the group's creator to deactivate the group. If the creator left the group, then only a group administrator can delete the group.